Fox camera

For the Love of Movies

Watching movies with friends is hardly social. It involves sitting and staring at a screen for an extended period of time. It doesn’t sound overly exciting, but this is still one of my favourite pastimes. And I’ve come to realize that I enjoy movies more when I watch them with other people.

“We all have our own time machines. Some take us back, they’re called memories. Some take us forward, they’re called dreams.” ~ Jeremy Irons (more quotes here)

In a Nostalgia Critic editorial, Doug Walker described how “American Beauty” captured a particular time so well that if you are interested in revisiting that time, watching this movie would be a good way to do so. For me, the movies I watch become memory anchors. I tend to re-watch certain movies, and whenever I do, I am reminded of when I had watched the movie before, and who I had seen it with.

“It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered.” ~ J.R.R. Tolkien, The Two Towers

For me, watching movies is anything but passive. The story, music, theme and characters stay with me long after the final credits fade. Movies have become something far more than escapism. In my opinion, movies, while perhaps lacking the power to mould someone’s overall thought process, certainly can shape moods and ideals – even if just momentarily. Ideally, the impact of disturbing movies (such as Orphan) would quickly vanish while that of more beautiful, meaningful films (such as The Giver) would live on for a bit longer, but this is not always the case.

Given the power that movies have, I should probably be putting more thought into the films I watch. At times, however, reviews and trailers can be misleading (Lucy, anyone). And occasionally, spur of the moment movies, like The Lego Movie, and Guardians of the Galaxy, can unexpectedly exceed expectations.

Your Thoughts

