Google Maps Mayhem

“If you are facing the right direction, all you need to do is keep on walking.” – Buddhist saying

Trying to get around in this unfamiliar city hasn’t been easy for me. Fortunately, I have access to Google Maps. Unfortunately, I have a number of factors stacked against me. Google Maps isn’t the best navigation tool available; I have a good sense of misdirection; and I tend to panic easily. Owing to this trifecta of fail, here are some of the interesting places my broken compass has led me to.

During my first few days in St. John’s, I had a couple of interviews to get to. Meticulously following the given directions led me to this:

Farm land with horses

Google Maps: Just say “Neigh”!

With no web surfing enabled on my mobile phone, I slowly headed back to my trusty laptop to look at alternate routes. The second suggested route seemed to make more sense. That is, until I was led to this:

Pond with ducks

Want to duck away from the beaten track? Navigate by Google Maps!

This week, I met up with some friends who live in a different part of the city. Not wanting to inconvenience them, I used my misdirected confidence in Google Maps to meet them somewhere. At least that was my intention. But the road to hell is pinpointed by Google Maps. I couldn’t find where I was supposed to meet them, and because  Google Maps had led me to one of the most inaccessible roads in the city, they couldn’t find me. After struggling through a series of windy, one-way streets and eighty-five degree inclines, we did eventually manage to meet up.

But as frustrating as it was, the last Google Maps misadventure actually allowed me to see a part of the city that I may not have seen otherwise.

Sometimes, deviations from the maps we try to draw for our lives seem almost serendipitous, leading us to spectacular destinations. Occasionally, we will arrive at less desirable outcomes because of wrong turns. No matter what, keep moving forward. Just remember to keep an eye on the compass.

“It is good to have an end to journey towards; but it is the journey that matters in the end.” – Ursula K. Le Guin

10 Comments

  1. william

    But who looks after the ducks in the winter?

    • Methinks they follow the example of many Canadians and head to Florida for the winter 🙂

  2. I love the green, white and pink flag. We’ve decided to fly one this year, just as soon as I find out where to buy one.

    • They’re becoming quite popular. They’re a nice way of acknowledging Newfoundland’s history.

  3. I figure I’m never “lost’, just exploring… 🙂

    • LOL! Lately, I’ve been doing a great deal of exploring – whether I intend to or not 🙂

  4. Looks like fun!

    • Military Road is a beautiful part of the city to be lost in 😉

Trackbacks

  1. I’ll have a Thousand Wings to Go, Please! | Kash in Transit
  2. Where There’s Smoke, There’s a ‘No Smoking Sign’ | Kash in Transit

Your Thoughts

