Canada: A Parody of Toto’s ‘Africa’

If Toto immigrated to Canada, I’m sure their music would change slightly. I bet their well-known song “Africa” would sound something like this once their tekkies hit the tundra:

I hear the wind howling tonight
Weatherman forecasts a truck-load of snow a-comin’.
I pray that he will not be proved right
Don’t feel like spending the whole day in the driveway shovelin’.
Why is it still snowing now? It’s May!
Never saw the likes of this out on the Serengeti!
Missus phoned. “Hurry up! Come get me quick! I’m freezing and I’m waiting here for you!”

Chorus:
It’s gonna take a lot to drag me out there to you
Nine feet of snow in five weeks – wish that wasn’t true
Snow makes a mess here in Canada
Getting me to drive through squalls and white-outs is just mean!

The Leafs fans cry out in the night
As they grow restless longing for that forgotten taste of victory
I know that I must do what’s right
Otherwise I’ll get put on the next flight back to my home country
I seek to cure my bad frostbite, frightened of the Sasquatch I’ve become

Chorus

“Hurry up, I’m waiting here for you!”

It’s gonna take a lot to drag me out there to you
Nine feet of snow in five weeks – wish that wasn’t true
Snow makes a mess here in Canada, freezing rain pelts us in Canada
No chance of sunlight here in Canada, living in an igloo here Canada
Lost fingers to frostbite here in Canada
Car’s buried in a snow drift once again – that is obscene

* * *

Last Laugh: Here is Straight No Chaser’s version of the 12 Days of Christmas.

2 Comments

  1. Such a fun vid.

    • Kash

      I liked it, too. “Partridge in a big pear tree!”

Your Thoughts

