A Click Away from Redemption

I have always been somewhat reluctant to buy products online. I never saw a need for online shopping – until recently. Stores within walking distance had everything I could possibly want or need – except for that one special gift. In search of that elusive treasure, I ventured into the uncharted territory of eBay for the very first time.

Somewhat sceptical, I searched for that perfect gift and amazingly, several sellers had stock. I placed my first bid. The site immediately sent me a congratulatory email. I was the “high bidder”. At first, I was a little concerned that the site was accusing me of using some kind of drug, but I let it go.

All I had to do was wait one day and eight hours. One hour went by, then two. Still no bids. Then someone outbid me. How dare they? To secure my position of authority, I upped my bid by a whopping two dollars. Needless to say, playing hard-ball worked. Two dollars was too rich for their blood. The next day, the perfect gift was mine to give!

As easy as that first purchase was, I had no reason to continue browsing … until my greedy eyes caught a glimpse of something that was missing from our living room. The missus and I were perfectly content with our Wii until we saw the X-Box 360 Kinect in action.

Just as Mowgli was hypnotized by Kaa, I became powerless against my obsession with it. I had to have it! But I couldn’t be selfish – I had to come up with another reason why this state-of-the-art gaming system belonged in our living room. And then I thought of UFC Personal Trainer. The Wii version of the popular title didn’t work, but I’d read nothing but praise reports for the X-Box Kinect version. I had provided a faulty gift so I had to redeem myself.

The local department store had an X-Box Kinect bundle for only $299 – seemed like a great price – but eBay had even better deals. I immediately placed a bid, but being such a popular item, I was outbid in no time. I quickly upped my bid to once again become the “high bidder”.

Then reality hit. We don’t really need an X-Box right now. The economy is not great; my job hunting has yet to yield anything of significance; we just bought a gaming system a few months ago; and the price is bound to drop dramatically after the holidays. And don’t forget about global warming. We cannot afford it right now. I prayed to be outbid.

Nervously, I watched the item on e-Bay. One hour passed. No higher bids. Two hours passed. Still no more bids. Despite the freezing temperatures, I began to sweat. What had I done? My greed was about to deal some serious damage to our bank balance. Finally, the bids started rolling in. Although the seller originally listed the X-Box Kinect bundle for $150, it finally sold for $279 (US). With shipping, I would have paid more on eBay than just buying from the local department store. I’ve never been so happy to accept defeat!

This may not have been my most extravagant Christmas shopping spree, but I did manage to pick up the gift of appreciation, both for the people in my life and for what we currently have. I count it a blessing that I was able to escape eBay’s luring temptation. To those that outbid me, thank you!

It’s not having what you want
It’s wanting what you’ve got – Cheryl Crow

Last Laugh: click here to see Weird Al Yankovic’s tribute to eBay.

2 Comments

  1. I love that quote by Cheryl Crow.

    Here are more along the same lines b/c I’m obsessed w/quotes:
    That man is the richest whose pleasures are the cheapest. – Henry David Thoreau
    The foolish man seeks happiness in the distance; the wise grows it under his feet. – James Oppenheim
    It is not the man who has too little, but the man who craves more, that is poor. -Seneca
    How can they say my life isn’t a success? Have I not for more than 60 years got enough to eat and escaped being eaten? – Logan Smith
    If there is to be any peace it will come through being, not having. – Henry Miller
    I make the most of all that comes, and the least of all that goes. – Sara Teasdale
    Compare what you want with what you have, and you’ll be unhappy; compare what you deserve with what you have, and you’ll be happy. – Evan Esar

    And my fave:

    Contentment is natural wealth; luxury is artificial poverty. – Socrates

    Boo-yah you’ve been quote-spammed by Gale Force!

    • Kash

      Great quotes!

Your Thoughts

